Tenant-Landlord Rights & Duties

Landlord-Tenant Laws

Before renting, landlords and renters may want to become familiar with the state and local laws. Both state and local laws protect renters and landlords in Wood Village. These laws are designed to prevent deterioration of the quality of the rental property and to promote the health and safety of tenants in the home.

One of Oregon’s most significant laws regulating rental properties is the Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (ORS 90.100-90.875). More information: Oregon State Bar.

Wood Village also has specific property maintenance requirements in the Wood Village Municipal Code Chapter 8.22 (Residential Rentals) and 8.18 (Property Maintenance Code).

File a Complaint

The City will inspect rentals based on complaints related to safety violations (not cosmetic issues). See the Rental Inspection Program tab for our rental property checklists.

Complaint Process

  1. Report the issue to your property owner/manager first in writing
    • Wait 2 weeks to allow scheduling of repairs.
    • If you don’t receive a response within two weeks, contact us.
    • If you’re experiencing a serious safety issue, contact your property manager immediately. If they don’t provide a timely response, contact us.
    • Examples of serious safety issues include a heater not functioning during cold weather, electrical hazards, flooding, etc.
  2. Contact the City
    • Submit your complaint online
    • Please provide the following information:
      • Your address
      • A copy of your written maintenance request
      • Photos or links to videos that document the issue(s)
    • We will contact you to ask for additional information and may schedule an inspection.
    • The City may perform an inspection. Consent to inspect from the tenant is granted with the submission of a complaint. The property owner/manager will be notified at least 21 days in advance of the inspection.
    • If violations are confirmed, we’ll send a violation notice to the property owner and impose a timeline to correct violations.


It is illegal for landlords to retaliate against tenants for reporting issues to the City.

Examples of retaliation may include increasing rent, decreasing services, serving a notice to terminate tenancy, or threatening to bring an action for possession if a tenant lodges reasonable complaints about the rental, testifies against the landlord in court, or otherwise tries to assert their legal rights as a tenant.