City Council

  • City Councilors are elected every four years from the City at large.
  • The Councilors choose who will serve as the Mayor from among themselves every 2 years.
  • Regular City Council meetings are typically held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. at City Hall.
  • City Council meetings are open to the public. Attendance is encouraged.
  • The City Council serves on a volunteer basis and do not have offices at City Hall.

Meet your Council members

Councilor Patricia SmithCouncilor Bruce Nissen


City Council Goals

Goal 1:  A safe, clean, inclusive community with a sense of pride and strong identity.

Goal 2:  Exemplary police, fire and building services.

Goal 3:  High Quality, cost-effective public utilities, parks and events.

Goal 4:  Long-term financial stability, economic vitality and growth.

Goal 5:  A work environment that develops and encourages employees and rewards their creativity and innovation.

Goal 6:  Effective local, state and regional partnerships.

Goal 7:  Responsible environmental leadership.