For updates on COVID-19 Resources and Relief Programs, click here.
Stay informed about COVID-19
January 11, 2021
December 1, 2020
The statewide two-week freeze will end tomorrow, and Governor Brown will introduce a framework for county safety measures that will help determine risk levels-Extreme Risk, High Risk, Moderate Risk, and Lower Risk. At least 21 counties will likely fall in the “extreme risk” category. Click here for a list of counties in each risk level using data available as of November 23rd. If your county’s risk level falls under Extreme Risk, see below:
- Indoor entertainment and recreational facilities like gyms and theaters-Closed
- Personal services-Allowed
- Outdoor entertainment and recreational facilities like zoos and pools-Maximum 50 people
- Restaurants and bars-Outdoor dining only with a max of 6 peole/2 households per table, must close by 11pm, and limit capacity to no more than 50 people
- Long term care facilities-Outdoor visitations only
- Grocery stores, pharmacies, retail stores and malls-Limited to 50% of maximum capacity with curbsite pick up encouraged
- Offices-Require work-from-home to the greatest extent possible and close building to the public
- Indoor at-home and social gatherings-No more than 6 people total and recommended limit of no more than 2 households present
- Outdoor at-home and social gatherings-No more than 6 people total and recommended limit of no more than 2 households present
- Faith institutions, funeral homes, mortuaries, cemetaries-No more than 150 outside, 100 people or 25% maximum capacity inside, and service limited to one hour
- Disease Spread Table
- County Risk Level Table
- Guidance by Activity
- Map of County Risk Levels as of 11/23/20
- More information will be posted to oregon.gov prior to December 3rd
- Read the news release
November 18, 2020
Governor Brown issued an Executive Order 20-65 for a two-week freeze; Multnomah County to remain on freeze for at least four weeks and is enforceable by law. The freeze will take effect today to slow the spread of COVID-19, which includes:
- Indoor and outdoor social gatherings of no more than 6 people total and no more than 2 households present
- Faith-based organizations and gatherings of no more than 25 people indoors and 50 people outdoors
- Restaurants are limited to take-out only
- Indoor recreation facilities such as gyms/fitness centers, indoor and outdoor recreational facilities like museums, pools, and zoos, sports courts, movie theaters, gardens, aquariums, and venues that host indoor and outdoor events will be closed
- Long-term care facilities limited to outdoor visitations only
- Grocery stores, pharmacies, retail stores, and malls are limited to a maximum capacity of 75% with curbside pickup encouraged
- Offices are mandated to work-from-home to the greatest extent possible and close buildings to the public
To report any violations, contact Oregon OSHA for workplace and OSHA or OLCC for restaurants. If any organizations violate this restriction, the person can be cited, fined or arrested.
“If a violation is cited criminally, under ORS 401.990, it is a class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 30 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,250, or both. A prosecutor can also opt to reduce the citation down to a class A violation, which has a lower fine. If a violation is pursued by the Oregon Health Authority under ORS 431A.010(d), it is a civil penalty, and the statutory maximum is $500 a day per violation,” the governor’s office said.
August 7, 2020
TriMet has released additional guidelines for passengers, social distancing, and mask use.
- Buses can now carry 19 passengers, or 24 if there are couples or families riding together.
- A MAX car will carry 22 people, or up to 26 people with couples and families.
- WES will carry 25-37 passengers, depending on the type of train.
- Masks must be worn while riding and passengers must practice social distancing of 3 feet.
Additional information can be found here.
July 7, 2020
East County Health Center in Gresham will be conducting free COVID-19 tests on Mondays and Thursdays from 9:30am-4:00pm. Click here for more information.
June 19, 2020
Multnomah County Enters Phase 1
Governor Kate Brown has approved Multnomah County to enter Phase 1. This means that restaurants and bars, personal services, gyms, and malls can re-open. Gatherings of up to 25 people for recreational, social, cultural, civic or faith events will be allowed as long as the event can meet physical distancing requirements. Learn more about Phase 1 here.
New Requirement for Face Coverings when in Public starting June 24
The Governor has issued a new requirement that most Oregonians, including everyone in Multnomah County, must wear masks in public starting on June 24, 2020. This means that a cloth covering over the face will be required within any business or other public space. At this time, the Governor has not issued how this new requirement will be enforced but new information will come out next week.
Need Masks, hand sanitizer?
To help everyone meet the requirement to wear a mask in public, there is an effort underway within Multnomah County to provide masks and hand sanitizer. If you need masks or hand sanitizer, email me by June 22 and I will put in a request to Multnomah County. Businesses that employ or serve vulnerable populations will be prioritized.
June 2, 2020
Play EAST! Recreation has issued a statement regarding the continuation of Summer 2020 programs in light of COVID-19.
May 20, 2020
The State of Oregon has provided funding to different agencies across the state for rent assistance for those affected by COVID-19. Click here for more information on eligibility and how to contact your local agency.
May 18, 2020
Multnomah County did not submit an application to re-open the county on May 15th. Instead, they have issued a status report.
Here are a few statewide changes:
- All businesses must require employees, contractors and volunteers to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering, unless an accommodation for people with disabilities or other exemption applies.
- All retail businesses can re-open. All retail businesses are now required to limit the number of customers to ensure at least 6 feet of distance between everyone in the store. Post signs listing COVID-19 symptoms. Increase sanitization of high traffic areas. Businesses are required to provide cloth, paper or disposable face coverings for employees.
Oregon Business Development Department is compiling a list of vendors for personal protective equipment. This includes, gowns, masks, hand sanitizer among other items.
Oregon Governor Kate Brown updated the Stay Home, Save Lives Executive Order NO. 20-25 to include more information about the statewide plan for phased re-openings.
Click here for specific guidance from the Oregon Health Authority on wearing masks in public.
April 30, 2020
Election Update: Voters can still access services while maintaining physical distancing at the same election locations–the Multnomah County Duniway-Lovejoy Elections Building in Southeast Portland and the Voting Center Express in downtown Gresham.
FEMA released a fact sheet that addresses PPE needs in non-healthcare settings. The guidance includes strategies to reduce, reuse, and re-purpose PPE. To help health facilities conserve their PPE inventory, FEMA also released a personal protective equipment preservation best practice fact sheet. The fact sheet includes strategies to reduce usage rates of PPE and disinfection guidance.
Map Your Meds provides state-by-state guidelines to getting prescription refills during an emergency. Individuals and patients can find information regarding changes to prescription medication rules and laws for all US states due to the current outbreak of COVID-19.
April 29, 2020
Starting today, the Oregon Unemployment Department of providing unemployment benefits through the CARES Act Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program (PUA). Click here to find out if you are eligible and how to apply.
April 21, 2020
During this unprecedented time, MCSO is committed to providing exceptional public safety services to the communities of unincorporated Multnomah County and the contract cities of Maywood Park, Wood Village, Troutdale, and Fairview. MCSO recognizes the impacts of this public health emergency on our community and our local businesses. In response, for the duration of the COVID-19 emergency situation, MCSO has expanded Vacation Home Check Program to include a Business Premise Check Program.
Today, MCSO is now offering a Business Premise Check option that will allow business owners to request periodic checks of their property that have been closed due to COVID-19 through the MCSO website to provide peace of mind and to deter crime.
This service is accessible here.
Click “Other” under Frequently Asked Questions
Click “How do I request a Business Premise Check”
April 10, 2020
Multnomah County DCHS has release Tenent Protection guidelines for COVID-19. Click here to see Oregon Tenant Rights.
April 8, 2020
With warm weather arriving, the Oregon Health Authority has issued guidance on staying safe while enjoying the outdoors.
- If you’re able to maintain social distancing, enjoy outdoor areas of your residence
- Enjoy solo physical activities or those with members of your immediate household such as walking, biking and running
- Have a virtual picnic with friends
- Get things done at home such as gardening or washing your car
- Open doors and windows to get fresh air while remaining inside
- Participate in group sports
- Visit crowded parks
- Attend social gatherings
- Go out if you’re sick
April 6, 2020
Multnomah county has issued an important update to the guidance around homemade face coverings. The CDC recommends wearing a cloth face covering when you cannot keep six feet between you and the public, like a grocery store or pharmacy.
Non-medical face coverings (such as homemade coverings) do not replace Stay Home requirements or the need for physical distancing. Cloth face coverings are one more thing we can do to protect one another.
Visit the CDC web page for more images and directions on how to make a homemade cloth face covering.
April 2, 2020
The Small Business Association has issued a Paycheck Protection Program in the form of forgivable loans issued to small business to be used for payroll, mortgage interest, rent, and utilities during COVID-19 shutdowns. The application and fact sheets can be found below:
April 1, 2020
The City of Wood Village is committed to providing assistance to our citizens during this heightened time of need. We have initiated an Emergency Utility Assistance Program designed to alleviate financial hardship to our residents caused by COVID-19. The Emergency Utility Assistance form can be accessed here. If you are unable to complete the form online, please call City Hall at 503-667-6211 to set up an appointment to come in and complete an application.
There are limited funds available for this program. Please utilize specific assistance programs with your utility provider first, if possible. Links to these assistance programs can be found below:
TriMet will be reducing services on MAX, WES, and most bus lines starting on April 5th. These changes are temporary as TriMet adapts their service to match the reduced need for transit due to COVID-19. Click here to see how your line will be affected.
Multnomah County is seeking to hire temporary employees to work in a range of shelters and motel settings over the coming weeks. Click here for more information.
March 30, 2020
The Multnomah County Department of Emergency Management’s data dashboard went live today. This includes a count of COVID-19 cases by region and by week.
Multnomah County Public library is issuing library cards online and is seeing an increase in the use of digital resources.
There are several Multnomah County resources related to COVID-19 available. Click here for a comprehensive list.
March 27, 2020
Beginning Monday, March 30th, Wood Village City Hall will be closed to the public to promote the health and safety of our guests, staff, and community. Please call 503-667-6211 to make an appointment with one of our team members if you need assistance. Water and sewer bills can be paid online or put in the drop box.
March 26, 2020
TriMet will no longer be accepting cash fares on board buses. This is a temporary measure to help with social distancing and to minimize the time riders spend near operators. Instead, you’ll need to pay with Hop: a plastic Hop card, your phone using a mobile wallet or virtual card, or a Hop ticket purchased at a ticket machine at a MAX or WES station. If you do not have a Hop card, you can get a free one by visiting TriMet Ticket Office in Pioneer Courthouse Square. You can also receive a card in the mail by calling 503-238-RIDE or email email@example.com.
Metro Waste Management has suspended the following services as a result of COVID-19:
- Suspension of residential bulky waste (e.g. mattresses, furniture, etc.) curbside collection.
- Suspension of bulky waste collection events.
- Mailing of hard copy welcome packets to new customers.
At this time, there are no further disruptions of Waste Management service.
The Multnomah County Emergency Management Situation Reports can be found here:
March 23, 2020
Governor Kate Brown has issued an executive order for all Oregonians to stay in their home as of today, in an effort to stop the spread of COVID-19. The executive order forbids all Oregonians from leaving their home unless absolutely necessary.
The executive order details what businesses are considered “essential” and how Oregonians can all do their part to reduce the spread of the Novel Coronavirus pandemic.
Read the full executive order here.
Allowed (must keep 6 feet from others):
- Hospitals and health care
- Grocery stores
- Take-out/delivery from restaurants and bars
- Pet stores
- Gas stations
- Certain retail stores
- Outdoor activities like walking your dog, jogging, or biking in your neighborhood
- Child care facilities and babysitters (only if abiding by new rules)
- Social gatherings (parties, celebrations) with people from outside of your household
- Dine-in restaurants and bars
- Nightclubs and concerts
- Shopping at outdoor or indoor malls and retail complexes
- Fitness: Gyms, sports and fitness centers, health clubs, and exercise studios, dance and yoga studios
- Grooming: Hair salons, barbershops, nail salons, massage parlors, non-medical wellness spas, cosmetic stores, tattoo parlors
- Entertainment: Theaters, amusement parks, arcades, bowling alleys, music concerts, sporting events, museums, skating rinks
- Outdoors: State parks, playgrounds, campgrounds, pools, skate parks, festivals
Here at Wood Village, we care about the safety and security of our residents and businesses. We want to ensure that each citizen has their basic needs met and is not going without. Please visit our Assistance Questionnaire so that we are able to better assist during this time of uncertainty.
March 21, 2020
Playground and Basketball Court at Donald Robertson Park Closed. For the health and safety of the City and community, and based on recommendations from the Governor’s Office and County Health Officials, the playground area and basketball court will be closed during the COVID-19 Pandemic. The rest of the park is open, including the restrooms.
March 18, 2020
Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office is modifying operations due to the COVID-19 health emergency. Please refer to changes in law enforcement, corrections, jail visitation, and business services here.
Metro Waste Management will temporarily close all residential call centers to help prevent the spread of COVID-19 effective March 18, 2020. Remote call centers will be established in order to resume residential call handling. At this time, there is no impact to your scheduled residential collection service. See the full statement here.
March 17, 2020
Wood Village City Hall will remain open to the public, however, it is recommended that you conduct any business with the City over telephone or email if possible. City staff has taken precautions regarding sanitation, disinfecting, and social distancing in order to best serve our community during this difficult time.
All public meetings and events have been cancelled for the month of March. At this time, we are still planning on hosting the April 16th City Council Meeting, April 21st Budget Committee Hearing, and April 28th City Council Meeting.
If your small business is experiencing negative economic impacts from COVID-19, please see the following information regarding disaster economic injury relief: SBA Disaster Relief
March 16, 2020
Governor Kate Brown ordered the closure of all restaurants and bars starting Tuesday, March 17 for four weeks, restricting businesses to carryout and delivery only with no on-site consumption, to fight the spread of Coronavirus. Governor Brown has also cancelled gatherings of more than 25 people for the next four weeks, and urged Oregonians to avoid gatherings of ten or more people. The ban does not apply to “essential” locations such as workplaces, pharmacies, retail stores, and grocery stores.
Food Service at hospitals, workplaces, and “other essential facilities” will go on, Governor Brown said. She also urged “all other businesses” to evaluate their operations to accommodate “social distancing,” or the practice of avoiding social situations and public places, which experts say can help slow the spread of the virus.
Please acknowledge the following statements regarding social distancing:
- In order to protect the health and safety of Oregon families, we must work together and support each other.
- It may seem like we are in the middle of this, but it’s just the beginning. That is why the new social distancing measures Governor Brown announced are so important.
- Even if the Coronavirus is not present in your area right now, social distancing is important for all Oregonians to follow. It will slow the spread.
- We have to slow the transmission of COVID-19 to preserve hospital capacity. That is why social distancing is so important.
- You and healthy people need to practice social distancing as well – you can be contagious even if you do not have any symptoms present. Following the guidelines on social distancing is a matter of life or death for others.
- Healthcare professionals and first responders need to be healthy so they can do their jobs, which are changing rapidly and promise to do so more in the future.
- Please do anything you can to assist a friend or neighbor who is a healthcare professional or first responder – bring them a meal, watch their child, or walk their dog.
- Isolation from our friends and neighbors is the only way to slow the rate of transmission and get Oregon through to the other side.
March 13, 2020
Now that there are confirmed cases of the novel Coronavirus COVID-19 in Multnomah County, Governor Kate Brown has issued an executive order cancelling all public gatherings of 250 people or more and has closed all Oregon schools beginning Monday, March 16th through March 31st.
The City of Wood Village is committed to providing uninterrupted services for our residents. City Hall will remain open unless otherwise stated, however, it is preferable that you conduct business with the City through telephone or email when possible.
- No Late Fees or Shut-offs for Water/Sewer bills in March: While payments on utility bills are encouraged, City officials understand that not everyone will be able to pay their bill on time. Residents and businesses will still receive a water and sewer bill, but there will be no late fees or shut-offs in March.
Multnomah County, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and Oregon Health Authority are closely following an outbreak of a new coronavirus that began in December 2019. In late February, the CDC said Americans should prepare for COVID-19.
Please refer to the following documents issued by the Wood Village City Manager and Mayor.
It is important to prevent the spread of germ by practicing the following:
- Social distancing (keeping at least three feet between yourself and others in a public setting)
- Staying home when you are sick
- Avoiding touching your eyes, mouth, or face
- Frequent hand washing (20 second minimum). Alcohol-based hand sanitizer is an acceptable alternative when hand washing is not an option, as long it is 60% alcohol or higher.
The following link will help inform Oregon residents on what to expect and how to best prepare:
*If you or someone you know has a child that may struggle with food security during school closures, please follow the link below for Reynolds School District emergency meal information: